Comings & Goings

Print More

AT CLARK STREET Lisa Scruggs, an attorney at Jenner & Block and vice president of the board of directors at Young Women’s Leadership School, has been named senior policy advisor to CEO Arne Duncan’s Senior Policy Advisor.

MOVING IN/ON Deborah Harrington has been promoted from program director to vice president of the Woods Fund…. John Luczak, a doctoral candidate in education policy analysis at Stanford University, has been named education program officer at The Joyce Foundation. Luczak previously worked as director of policy for the National Commission on Mathematics and Science Teaching in the 21 st Century. … Phil Brach has stepped down as executive director of the Midtown Educational Foundation. He will become vice president of institutional advancement at St. John’s College High School in Washington D.C.Glenn Wilke, director of annual gifts and special events, will take over as the acting executive director of Midtown. … Kristine Cohn, former county board chairman of Winnebago County, has been named Midwest Region representative for the U.S. Dept. of Education. …Michael Ban has been named executive director of Book Worm Angels, which collects books for libraries in under-performing schools. Ban takes over from former executive director and founder Kermit Myers. …

New members of the steering committee of the Consortium on Chicago School Research have been named: Lauren Allen, Cross-City Campaign for Urban School Reform; Elizabeth Hawthorne, National Louis University; Timothy Knowles, Center for Urban School Improvement at the University of Chicago; Diedra Lewis, City Colleges of Chicago; Peter Martinez, Center for School Leadership at the University of Illinois-Chicago; Sam Meisels, Erikson Institute; Jim Pellegrino, UIC; Josie Yanguas, Illinois Resource Center; and Martha Zurita, University of Notre Dame Institute for Latino Studies.

AWARDS The CPS Office of Education-to-Careers honored five educators in June with Exemplary Teacher Awards, given to honor dedication to students and the teaching profession. Awardees were James Anderson and Wende Dallain of the Chicago High School for Agricultural Sciences, Kinasha Brown of Chicago Vocational High, Ronald Martin of Dunbar Vocational Career Academy, and Jacqueline Patterson Morris of Calumet High.

CHICAGO EDUCATOR The Chicago Educator, CPS’s bi-monthly newsletter for students and parents, will no longer be published in hard copy because of high printing costs, CPS officials said. The last issue was in June. The Educator will continue to be published online.

Comings & Goings

Print More

SCHOOL CLOSINGS CEO Arne Duncan announced CPS would close five schools and consolidate four others into two due to dwindling enrollment. Slated for closure are Colman and Donoghue elementaries and Arts of Living, Tesla and Flower high schools. Consolidations include merging Munoz-Marin into Lowell, and Woodson North into Woodson South. Duncan also said DuSable High will close temporarily to be converted into small schools by 2005, and Lindblom College Prep would shut down for two years to undergo renovations. The measures are up for approval at the May School Board meeting.

AT CLARK STREET Renee Grant-Mitchell, former deputy chief of the Office of Specialized Services, has replaced Sue Gamm as the head of the department. Gamm will continue to advise CPS on policy and legislation as special counsel. … James M. Sullivan, who has served as interim inspector general since Maribeth Vander Weele resigned a year ago, has been named permanent successor.

PRINCIPALS Peter M. Jonikaitis, interim principal at Gunsaulus Scholastic Academy, is now contract principal. Jerry Travlos, assistant principal at Smyser, was awarded a four-year contract as principal. … Principal Fulton Nolen was asked to leave Lindblom College Prep amid concerns about school finances and student discipline. Assistant Principal Rean Sanders takes over as interim through June.

PRINCIPAL RETIREMENTS Arlene Singleton Coffey, Esmond; Dean K. Gustafson, Woodlawn. … Shirley Chapman is interim principal at Esmond and will become contract principal on July 1; Kweku Embil is acting principal at Woodlawn.

RENAMED SCHOOLS Responding to requests from local school councils, the School Board approved name changes for the following schools: Dawes was renamed the Hampton Fine and Performing Arts School after jazz artist Lionel Hampton, and Davis/Shields becomes Columbia Explorers Academy in tribute to the astronauts who died in February’s space shuttle disaster.

DONE DEAL Gov. Rod Blagojevich on April16 signed into law a measure that restores some bargaining rights to the Chicago Teachers Union. The bill, which had the support of CPS and Mayor Daley, requires the School Board to negotiate the impact of workplace decisions, such as layoffs or class size, with the union. The measure also included a provision to double the number of charter schools in Chicago to 30.

FUNDS FOR SMALL SCHOOLS The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation will give $7.6 million to CPS to create 12 new small high schools over the next five years. Now operating nine small high schools, the school district will open two new small schools by 2004, and plans a total of 32 by 2007. CPS and the Chicago High School Redesign Initiative will issue a request for proposals in June.

CONFLICT RESOLVED Murray Language Academy has called off its request for a two-year moratorium on feeding students into Canter Middle. Along with two other Hyde Park elementary schools, Murray agreed last fall to relocate its 7th and 8th grades to a newly reconfigured Canter. But Canter’s rocky opening set off a revolt, and by February, Murray’s LSC petitioned the board to take back its upper grades and submitted a list of criteria for the school to meet. The board denied the moratorium, but agreed to honor nearly all the demands, including $400,000 in renovations and an upgraded curriculum. (Catalyst March 2003)

Compiled by Catalyst staff